State News : Texas

NWCDN is a network of law firms dedicated to protecting employers in workers’ compensation claims.

NWCDN Members regularly post articles and summary judgements in workers’ compensations law in your state.  

Select a state from the dropdown menu below to scroll through the state specific archives for updates and opinions on various workers’ compensation laws in your state.

Contact information for NWCDN members is also located on the state specific links in the event you have additional questions or your company is seeking a workers’ compensation lawyer in your state.




Gift Shift

Effective July 11, 2024, the DWC will adopt changes to 28 Texas Administrative Code Section 102.2, pertaining to gifts, grants, and donations made to the Division.  

Heretofore, a gift of $500.00 or more to the agency necessitated a majority vote by the commissioners at a public meeting to acknowledge the gift within 90 days of its acceptance. Now, the DWC will be required to post any gift/grant/donation of $500.00 or more to its public website for at least five years from the date of receipt, identifying the donor, the amount, and the date and purpose of the bequeathment, if known. Left intact is the prohibition on a donation or gift (again, ≥ $500.00) from anyone who is a party to a contested case until thirty days after the decision in that case has become final.  

So, if you have $500.00 burning a hole in your pocket and don’t know what to do with it, you can always hand it over to the DWC.  But we have a better idea.

Copyright 2024, Stone Loughlin & Swanson, LLP