NWCDN Members regularly post articles and summary judgements in workers’ compensations law in your state.
Select a state from the dropdown menu below to scroll through the state specific archives for updates and opinions on various workers’ compensation laws in your state.
Contact information for NWCDN members is also located on the state specific links in the event you have additional questions or your company is seeking a workers’ compensation lawyer in your state.
Tennessee Enacts Workers’ Compensation Statutory Changes Addressing
Penalties, Attorney’s Fees, Death Benefits, and PTSD for Firefighters
On April 13, 2023, Tennessee Governor Bill Lee Signed Public Chapter
145, which brought about changes impacting several different areas of the
Tennessee Workers’ Compensation Law.
I. Penalties for Failure to Pay Medical Expenses Pursuant to Court Order
Under current law, Tenn. Code. Ann. § 50-6-118(d)(1) provides that if an employer or workers’ compensation insurance carrier “wrongfully” fails to reimburse an employee for medical expenses paid by the employee within 60 days of a settlement or court order, or if an employer or workers’ compensation insurance carrier fails to provide medical treatment pursuant to a settlement or court order, then a penalty can be assessed in an amount up to 25% of the medical expenses. Before this penalty is applicable, the employer or carrier must have acted “in bad faith.” Public Chapter 145 will lower the standard necessary for the imposition of this penalty. First, it changes the standard from “wrongfully” to “unreasonably.” Second, it removes the requirement of “in bad faith.” These changes should lower the standard for employers and carriers to be penalized for these infractions. However, Public Chapter 145 did add additional language relieving employers and carriers from liability for this penalty if the medical expense/treatment is paid/authorized within 60 days after receiving information and documentation reasonably necessary to determine compensability and to issue payment.
II. Court Approval of Attorney’s Fees
Under current law, the reasonableness of employee’s attorney’s fees is subject to approval of the workers’ compensation judge. However, the current statute also removes the judge’s discretion to reject an attorneys’ fee if the fee does not exceed 20% of the award to the employee. This was confirmed by the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board and Special Workers’ Compensation Appeals Panel in Henderson v. Pee Dee Country Enterprises. Public Chapter 145 is clearly a response to the Henderson ruling, since it removes the requirement that the workers’ compensation judge must approve an employee’s attorney fee as long as it does not exceed 20% of the award. This effectively restores the judge’s discretion to approve or reject an attorney’s fee, even if the fee is less than 20% of the employee’s award.
III. Attorney’s Fees for Failure to Provide Workers’ Compensation Benefits
Under current law, a workers’ compensation judge has the authority to
award reasonable attorney’s fees and reasonable costs when the employer
“wrongfully” denies a claim, or “wrongfully” fails to timely provide medical
benefits, temporary or partial disability benefits, or death benefits, if the
judge makes a finding that the benefits were owed at an expedited hearing or
compensation hearing. Public Chapter 145 retains this provision but changes the
applicable standard from “wrongfully” to “unreasonably.” Also, the
applicability of this authority is extended to dates of injury through June 30,
IV. Admissibility of C-32 Medical Reports
Current Law requires that C-32 medical reports must bear the doctor’s
original signature to be admissible. A reproduced report is not admissible
unless accompanied by an originally signed affidavit from the doctor verifying
its contents. Public Chapter 145 will relax that standard by allowing the
report to bear either an original signature or electronic signature of the
doctor. It will also allow a reproduced copy to the same extent as the original
report unless a genuine question is raised as to its authenticity.
V. Written Mediated Settlement Agreement
Under current law, if the parties reach a full and final settlement
through mediation, then the mediator must reduce the settlement to writing.
Public Chapter 145 will allow either the mediator, or one party’s legal
representative to draft a written settlement agreement.
VI. Death Benefits Payable from the Uninsured Employers Fund
Current law provides that the Uninsured Employers Fund may be used to
pay temporary disability benefits and medical benefits to any eligible employee
who suffered a compensable injury while working for an employer who failed to
properly secure workers’ compensation insurance coverage. Public Chapter 145
will expand the scope of that fund to also allow the payment of death benefits,
when applicable, and the maximum cap is raised from $40,000.00 to $60,000.00.
VII. Certified Physician Program
Public Chapter 145 authorized the creation of a voluntary physician
education program that provides an additional reimbursement under the medical
fee schedule for Bureau-certified physicians. The two main goals of the program
are increasing access for injured workers to trained physicians and reducing
the number of days that injured workers are out of work.
VIII. Effective Dates
The changes discussed above in section III, pertaining to Attorney’s
Fees for Failure to Provide Workers’ Compensation Benefits, went into effect
when Governor Lee signed the Public Chapter 145 on April 13, 2023. All other changes will go into effect on July
On April 17, 2023, Tennessee Governor Bill Lee Signed Public Chapter 158, which brought about changes impacting death benefits.
I. Remarriage of Surviving Spouse
Under current law, upon the remarriage of a surviving spouse, if there
is no child of the deceased employee, then periodic death benefits terminate. However,
Public Chapter 158 provides that in this scenario, the periodic benefits will
still terminate but the surviving spouse is entitled to a lump sum payment
equal to 100 weeks based on 25% of the deceased employee’s average weekly
II. Increased Percentage of Death Benefits
Under current law, there are certain scenarios where the qualifying
dependent is entitled to death benefits based on 50% of the deceased employee’s
average weekly wages – such as where there is a surviving spouse with no
dependent children, or a single dependent orphan. Public Chapter 158 increases benefits in each
of those scenarios to 66 2/3% of the deceased employee’s average weekly wage.
III. Educational Requirements for Continued Periodic Death Benefits to Orphans
Generally, periodic death benefits to dependent orphans will terminate
when the orphan reaches the age of 18. However, under current law, benefits can
continue until age 22 if the child is attending a recognized educational
institution. Public Chapter 158 clarifies that this includes completing
secondary education or a program leading to an equivalent credential, or
enrolled in a recognized institution that provides postsecondary career or
IV. Certification of Continued Eligibility
Public Chapter 158 creates a new right for employers/carriers who are
paying periodic death benefits, in that they can now periodically require a
dependent to provide information about whether the dependent continues to
qualify for benefits. Benefits may be suspended if the dependent fails to
provide the requested information within 15 days after receipt of the request.
V. Effective Date
Public Chapter 158 takes effect July 1, 2023.
On May 17, 2023, Tennessee Governor Bill Lee Signed Public Chapter 465, which creates a statutory causation presumption for firefighters with PTSD.
I. Name of the Act
This law is known as the James “Dustin” Samples Act.
II. Definition of “Firefighter”
For purposes of this act, “firefighter” means a regular or full-time,
paid employee of the fire department of a municipality, county, municipal form
of government, or other political subdivision of the state. It includes
employees whose previous duties required the employee to respond to and be
actively engaged in fire suppression, rescue services, or other emergency
If a firefighter is diagnosed with post-traumatic stress disorder
(PTSD) by a mental health professional because of one or more specified types
of incidents, then the injury is presumed to have been incurred in the line of
duty and is compensable under the workers’ compensation law, unless it is shown
by a preponderance of the evidence that the PTSD was caused by
non-service-connected factors. The types of incidents that may give rise to
this presumption are: (a) directly witnessing the death of a minor, or treating
the injury of a minor who subsequently died; (b) directly witnessing an individual
whose death involved a serious bodily injury of a nature that shocks the
conscience; (c) responding to an event where there was a victim with a serious bodily
injury that shocks the conscience; or (d) responding to an event where a
responder, co-worker of a responder, or family member of a responder sustained
a serious bodily injury or died.
IV. Date of Diagnosis
This presumption applies to a firefighter who is diagnosed with PTSD
within one year of the firefighter’s final date of employment with the fire
V. Exception for Disciplinary Action
A mental condition resulting solely from disciplinary action, work
evaluation, job transfer, layoff, demotion, termination, or similar action
taken in good faith by the employer is not considered an injury sustained in
the line of duty.
VI. Grant Program
Public Chapter 465 requires the Department of Labor and Workforce
Development to establish and administer a grant program to mitigate the costs
to an employer of providing workers’ compensation for firefighters diagnosed
with PTSD. The Department may award an employer a grant if the employer
provides mental health awareness training for its personnel.
VII. Effective Date
This act takes effect January 1, 2024.
For any questions, please contact:
Fredrick R. Baker, Member
Wimberly Lawson Wright Daves & Jones, PLLC
1420 Neal Street, Suite 201
P.O. Box 655
Cookeville, TN 38503-0655