NWCDN Members regularly post articles and summary judgements in workers’ compensations law in your state.
Select a state from the dropdown menu below to scroll through the state specific archives for updates and opinions on various workers’ compensation laws in your state.
Contact information for NWCDN members is also located on the state specific links in the event you have additional questions or your company is seeking a workers’ compensation lawyer in your state.
Currently in South Dakota you cannot force a claimant to attend an IME unless the doctor conducting the IME is licensed in South Dakota. If the claimant volunteers to go to a non-SD licensed doctor, the IME is valid and can be used.
There is going to be some legislation proposed where the defense bar would be allowed to use non-SD licensed doctors in exchange for increasing the notice period from 3 days to 7 days. This seems like a good compromise as there are very few doctors licensed in SD who will do IMEs, and there are lots of exceptions to the notice provision. We will wait and see if this compromise gets passed. If it does, the new law would take effect on July 1, 2013.
If you have questions, please contact Charlie Larson at 605-336-2424 or email@example.com