State News : North Carolina

NWCDN is a network of law firms dedicated to protecting employers in workers’ compensation claims.

NWCDN Members regularly post articles and summary judgements in workers’ compensations law in your state.  

Select a state from the dropdown menu below to scroll through the state specific archives for updates and opinions on various workers’ compensation laws in your state.

Contact information for NWCDN members is also located on the state specific links in the event you have additional questions or your company is seeking a workers’ compensation lawyer in your state.

North Carolina



As previously reported in Risk Alert: Special Edition (New IC Rules) published in October 2014, Industrial Commission costs associated with settlement agreements and mediations were increased, but the fees for Forms 21, 26, and 26A and hearing costs have now been eliminated.  Effective back on November 1, 2014, the processing fee for compromise settlement agreements, or clinchers, increased from $375 to $400.  Additionally, a fee of $200 is now charged for the filing of the “Report of Mediator” form, regardless if the mediation is mandatory or voluntary.   As before, the employer or carrier pays the processing fee for the clincher and the “Report of Mediator” in their entirety, but is entitled to a credit for the employee’s 50% share of the fees against any settlement proceeds or final award, unless the parties agree otherwise.

Most recently, effective July 1, 2015, the $120 fee for Deputy Commissioner hearings and the $220 fee for Full Commission hearings was eliminated.  The $300 processing fees for Forms 21, 26, and 26A were also eliminated effective July 1, 2015.