State News : North Carolina

NWCDN is a network of law firms dedicated to protecting employers in workers’ compensation claims.

NWCDN Members regularly post articles and summary judgements in workers’ compensations law in your state.  

Select a state from the dropdown menu below to scroll through the state specific archives for updates and opinions on various workers’ compensation laws in your state.

Contact information for NWCDN members is also located on the state specific links in the event you have additional questions or your company is seeking a workers’ compensation lawyer in your state.

North Carolina



Written by: Tracey Jones

Starting February 20, 2023, the Industrial Commission will begin emailing Report of Mediator fee invoices at the time the mediator is appointed. This new procedure will not impact the fee’s due date but is being introduced in an effort to allow additional time for processing and payment. The $200 fee can be paid either online via credit card or e-Check (a link for payment will be provided in the email) or by mailed paper check. With this new procedure, the Industrial Commission hopes to encourage early payment so employers and carriers can manage cases more efficiently while also being able to avoid the risk of past due invoices, penalties, and interest. 

Note: Payment of the $200 Report of Mediator fee is due no later than seven (7) days from the deadline for completing mediation or seven (7) days from the date mediation is completed, whichever is earlier. The Commission is issuing penalties when they receive late payments, so timely processing these invoices is important.