State News : Nebraska

NWCDN is a network of law firms dedicated to protecting employers in workers’ compensation claims.

NWCDN Members regularly post articles and summary judgements in workers’ compensations law in your state.  

Select a state from the dropdown menu below to scroll through the state specific archives for updates and opinions on various workers’ compensation laws in your state.

Contact information for NWCDN members is also located on the state specific links in the event you have additional questions or your company is seeking a workers’ compensation lawyer in your state.


Caswell, Panko & Westerhold, LLC

Insurer sent settlement payment to the employer’s attorney on the 30th day after entry of an order approving lump sum settlement. However, the payment was not delivered to counsel for the employee until the 31st day after the lump sum order was entered. The Court of Appeals held that a 50% penalty on the $265,000.00 settlement check was due. Had the adjuster sent the check via UPS directly to counsel for plaintiff there would be no penalty due, even though it arrived on the 31st day, because it was sent within 30 days as required byBrown v. Harbor Fin. Mortgage Corp., 267 Neb. 218, (2004).

Harris v. Iowa Tanklines, Inc.,20 Neb. App. 513 (2013)